A Look Back (and not just about science)

I have never been one to look back the past year and reflect. It goes against my ADD personality, but this past year was really the best and worst of times…

The year started in style: the Animal Kingdom Lodge in Orlando on the concierge level in our pajamas dancing to the music in the lobby 6 stories below (we couldn’t sleep if we wanted due to the incredibly loud music). Life was good; I was a Science Writer. Little did I know in graduate school that this would be my dream job. How was I lucky enough to land it right out of the gate? We were rich (by our standards), my wife was preparing to quit her job as an underpaid, under-appreciated kindergarten teacher in the local public school district. Life was good.

For the first time in my life, I felt whole. I was providing for my family, contributing to the dissemination of scientific discovery to all that would listen (or read), and I was happy (especially taking pictures of deer outside my office window almost weekly to show my four year old daughter). I was even finding new creative ways to reach a broader audience through teaching myself 3D graphic/illustration software for the visual learners like me. Showing science was not a book of facts, but instead a beautiful creative glimpse at Mother Nature in all her glory.

The cards fell mid-August when I was told my position was being eliminated (post here). By mid-September, I was an over-qualified (yet under-qualified) stay at home dad with a Ph.D. I was broken and still am. Even though I have found one (maybe two hopefully) part time gigs to bring in some income, but my wife now must suffer through another year of purgatory-resembling bureaucracy teaching kids while pregnant (Yay!). It’s not fair to her or my family.

What a year, 2013. Good riddance.

3 thoughts on “A Look Back (and not just about science)”

Leave a Reply

